Sleepy Princess in the Demon Castle (魔王城でおやすみ)

I added this anime to my watchlist out of curiosity. Stories involving monsters are generally my favorite when it comes to anime and manga, and this one did not disappoint. I enjoyed the anime thoroughly and moved onto the manga. It has just over 300 chapters available at this point and is still ongoing.

It’s difficult to really compare this to most of the other manga and anime that I’ve enjoyed, because this story isn’t really plot based. If anything, it feels like a long running sitcom. I think that if you enjoy Gintama this will be something of a similar feeling, but not the same theme. (The theme of Gintama is a kind of retro futuristic sci-fi Japanese life, but ridiculous comedy. The theme of Sleepy Princess is fantasy/magic/monster castle with lots of comedic misunderstandings, especially romantic ones, and also lots of silly quests for bedding and a good night’s sleep). Even though it bothers me with Gintama that the story doesn’t progress, it doesn’t bother me as much with Sleepy Princess. I found it to be genuinely hilarious and captivating.

I found myself wondering if the princess would ever want to return to the human world, but at one point she said she wanted to be ruler of the human world someday. Otherwise it seemed like maybe she would marry the Demon King Twilight and become queen of Demon King Castle, even though it didn’t seem likely that she was interested in Twilight romantically. While the tension with Leo-kun’s obsession with the princess and her downright obliviousness to his feelings has been incredibly entertaining, it also made me wonder if she would ever end up with Leo-kun rather than Twilight. The most ironic and perfect part of the story was the fact that even though the Hero loved the princess and has been trying to rescue her, she never liked him and doesn’t want to be rescued by him or anyone. I’m going to be faithfully reading this in anticipation of their inevitable encounter when the princess rejects the Hero.

Sleepy Princess is definitely a girly love triangle comedy, and even though the overall story is incredibly slow to progress, I still find it to be so satisfying to read it.

Leave a comment